Mayor and Council

St. Charles operates under a charter form of government with citizens electing a mayor and four council members to set policy for the City. Council members serve terms of four years, with two members being elected every two years. The mayor is elected every two years. The mayor and council are elected on a non-partisan basis.

The City Council believes that its people, not leaders, are what makes a City great and actively works to encourage citizen participation in the decision-making process. Whether it is through meetings, advisory boards and committees, telephone calls and letters, or e-mail, the City Council sets policies based on the input and needs of its citizens. The City Charter is St. Charles' constitution outlining the powers of local government. City Council ordinances are compiled in the City Code Book.

City Council meets twice a month on the second and fourth Tuesday at 6:00 p.m. in the council chambers in the City Hall building. Meetings are open to the public.

City Councilmember’s include:

Mayor John Schaber



You may contact the mayor @


Councilmember Dave Braun

Dave Braun has lived in St. Charles for 46 years. He serves as a Senior Laboratory Specialist in the Electrical Packaging Lab at IBM. Dave has been employed with IBM for over 30 years.

He and his wife Paula (Kruempel) Braun have been married for twenty six years. Paula is an elementary school teacher in the Dover-Eyota School District. They have four children. A.J., Shane, Cody, and David-Ty.

You may contact Mr. Braun at

Councilmember Wayne Getz

Wayne and his wife Marilyn moved to St. Charles in 1998. They have two daughters and four grandchildren.

Wayne grew up on a farm in South Dakota and graduated from High School in Mitchell. He attended Dakota State and Dakota Wesleyan Universities.

Wayne is the Public Works Director for the City of Altura. He has been a member of the St. Charles American Legion Post #190 for 36 years; and serves as a Eucharistic minister for the St. Charles Borremeo Church. He has served for 27 years with the MN Army National Guards, is certified with the MN Department of Health and carries a MN engineer license.

Wayne spends his free time with his wife, Marilyn and their family. Together they enjoy boating, fishing, hunting, dirt track racing, and shopping.

You may contact Mr. Getz at

Councilmember Craig Hilmer

Craig and his wife Lori (Cedarholm) moved to St. Charles in 2001. Their children are Doren Hilmer, Alex Forbes, Abby Forbes, and Caleb Forbes.

Craig works for Olmsted County where he has served as a Senior Program Evaluator since 2000. He served 6 years with the United States Air Force. Since 2003, Craig began covering the St. Charles City Council as a part-time writer for the local newspaper. Over that time, he familiarized himself with the issues of the City and in 2015 felt that through his education and experience, he could be a positive driver to help to build on the community’s strengths.

He enjoys listening to music and spending time with his family.

You may contact Mr. Hilmer at


Councilmember David Kramer





You may contact Mr. Kramer at